Tuesday, January 24, 2006

2006 Children's Awards announced at ALA mid-winter

The 2006 award books have been announced at ALA mid-winter in San Antonio. Many were expected to win, but there are a few surprises. Highlights of the awards:

The 2006 Newbery Medal winner is Criss Cross written by Lynne Rae Perkins, Greenwillow Books, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers.

The 2006 Caldecott Medal winner is The Hello, Goodbye Window illustrated by Chris Raschka and written by Norton Juster (Michael di Capua Books, an imprint of Hyperion Books for Children)

John Green has won the 2006 Michael L. Printz Award for his extraordinary first novel “Looking for Alaska,” published by Dutton Books, a member of Penguin Group (USA), Inc.

2006 Pura Belpré Award Winners

For narrative:
Viola Canales. The Tequila Worm. (Wendy Lamb Books, a division of Random House).

For illustration:
Raul Colón. Doña Flor: A Tall Tale About a Giant Woman with a Great Big Heart. Written by Pat Mora. (Alfred A. Knopf, a division of Random House).

For a complete listing of all awards and honor books, go to http://news.ala.org/releases/announce.html

No comments:

Post a Comment